Talk

Advanced search

Here some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

First appointment with Pead yesterday

(9 Posts)
baboos Fri 29-Jul-11 21:25:55

Hi all,

had out first app with pead yesterday, my son who is 3.5 was on his worst behaviour (shouting, scratching me, meltdown etc) only 10 mins in, and continued until the end. I felt the need to explain that he was NOT always like this......and wished she could see the adorable boy we see lots of too. At the end of the meeting she said we were being put on the waiting list for the disco assessment, but as there was a long waiting list it, she was going to put on the letter "probable autism", as this would help me with access to help, her words.

I'm new to this, has anyone been told probable autism before, and is this normally said...........

If I'm honest the worst part to this is the effect his behaviour is having on his twin brother, he is a tomentor with his pushing and hitting and I try to get there before his brother retaliates, but I am struggling to make him understand why he can't do the same back.

Any tips greatly appreciated..........

Jerbil Fri 29-Jul-11 22:37:24

Yes, but then my sone has quite autistic behaviour but can be incredibly social, and can sometimes be opposite, but this inconsistency meant they psych doesn't think he has ASD. She is thinking more ADHD but they won't diagnose it till 7 where we are!

It's a long road. Do your own research. Write down your observations of your DC yourself, and they at least get an accurate picture of homelife.

Good luck

janetsplanet Fri 29-Jul-11 22:40:05

we were refered by paed to CAMHS. A woman from CAMHS phoned me and said she was putting us in for a multi assessment? as the paed had written on the referral that it was POSSIBLE ASD

BsDad Sat 30-Jul-11 09:04:18