Talk

Advanced search

Here some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

Retained primary reflexes

(9 Posts)
tiggyh Wed 20-Jul-11 20:13:21

Hi there

Does anyone have any experiences of getting help or advice from the The Institute for Neuro Physiological Psychology www.inpp.org.uk?
My 7yr old son has some retained primary reflexes diagnosed by an optometrist and from what I have read online there is a link between these and dyspraxia/dysgraphia. My son has real trouble trying to write / concentration issues / cross laterality and wondered if anyone else has had any success with the sort of daily exercises that are suggested to inhibit the primary reflexes?

sorry if this has been asked before, but I am new on here.
thanks

Helenagrace Thu 21-Jul-11 13:50:45

HI

I just replied on your other thread. I have some experience as dd is currently following an exercise programme devised by a Behavioural Optometrist. She has dyslexia, dyspraxia, dysgraphia and convergence insufficiency as well as 4/5 retained primary reflexes.

I think the exercise programme has helped. She is more coordinated and therefore more confident and her handwriting is massively improved (although she has also been doing Speed Up at school so that might also have contributed).

Her concentration has improved but she is still very disorganised and we're working on strategies to help with that at home.

I haven't had any dealings with that particular institute.

IndigoBell Thu 21-Jul-11 13:58:08

Yes, loads of people here have done it with heaps of success.

Becaroo currently goes there.

I go somewhere else and am very pleased with the therapy.

Search threads on 'retained reflexes'

Tatyan Thu 21-Jul-11 22:43:12