Talk

Advanced search

Online courses on Speech and Language therapy for parents

(7 Posts)
tiredmummyoftwo Sat 16-May-09 13:47:09

Hi, I am new to mumsnet, so I will give a bit of background info to introduce mysefl, although I have been reading the posts on special needs for the last 6 months. I have a DS who had an Childhood autism diagnosis at 2.5. He is now 3.10, verbal, communicates in 4-6 words sentences, very clear on what he wants, and so far no learning difficulties been identified. We have recently moved out of the UK, what a blessing!!! A year of diagnosis, only 2 SALT visits in the UK with no real input as he was way ahead of what she was recommending. For the last three months we had ABA therapy for our son and he is already complying 100%, tantrums are nearly non-existent, understanding is at 63% according to therapist. So fingers crossed. But the downside of moving out of the UK is that the schools here have no special need provision and so there is no help at all at school. The SALT here are recommending more hours(he does two hours a day. 10hrs a week of therapy)to get him to catch up but they are unable to provide any extra hours due to long hours they are working. So only other way we can increase his hours is for me to spend more time with him. NO problem with that as we have a maid who can look after DS2 grin.

So I am hoping MN could recommend some online course for me on ABA therapy, or any speech and language therapy, so I get the basics on how to work on DS1. His main areas of diffulties are-yet not asking any question (did ask where for a while, does not any more), question differenciation is very poor, although can answer who and what question. He can't do two way conversations, can't answer what are you doing question.

Any recommendations on how to improve on this will be appreciated.

AttilaTheMeerkat Sat 16-May-09 13:50:55

Sorry that I cannot help with your question directly.