Talk

Advanced search

Is getting a Ehcp plan possible?

(5 Posts)
Roseyposy Thu 19-Oct-17 15:31:39

My son has Aspergers syndrome and he attends secondary school, I've received a letter in the post telling me they are putting him into intervention as he has gone 3 sub levels down in his maths, he is on target with his reading and writing they are taking him out every Thursday for a hour to help him catch up. I was under the impression that because he has sen he would be placed on sen support and monitored,? to be honest he is working below nearly all his subjects and has gone 2 or 3 sublevels backwards except for English. I am trying to contact the sen department but they keep ignoring my voice mails but I want to be sure first I feel my son should have help in all subject areas not just maths

Notnotresilient Thu 19-Oct-17 18:59:59

I am not an expert and hopefully somebody more articulate and knowledgeable will be here to clarify the ins and outs of the law and the code of practice, just wanted to say that nothing should stop you in pursuing an EHCP if you feel that is wat your DS needs.

Given that he went a few sublevels down, (I assume it is documented and you can show it), it shows that "the gap is widening", meaning the school needs to put in place more intervention. It also looks like the school does not fully understand his needs as they let his levels fall and did not put intervention in all subjects earlier. They seem to be scrambling to do that now, but not in all subjects, probaly because they don't have resources to do it in all subjects. This is showing that the needs of your DS, in order to close the gap cannot be met within the school resources, hence he might need a EHC assessment to understand what his needs are, what intervention is required and an EHCP to provide appropriate resources.