Talk

Advanced search

Need advice for Dyslexia research, Brighton area

(11 Posts)
arunadasi Tue 21-Mar-17 09:19:49

Hello everyone! This is my very first post here on Mumsnet; I'm hoping you can help! I also hope this post is allowed, as it is for information really and not for help for myself, though I am a mother (two children, boy and girl).
First of all, may I introduce myelf -- I'm an author; I write novels, five published so far, and in my latest one I'm a bit stuck, as I do not live in the UK now and that is where the novel is set.
It's about a family living in a village outside Brighton -- the parents have adopted a little girl from India, and it turns out she is dyslexic. They cannot afford to send her to an independent school. My question is basically: what help, if any, would be given to such a child in the state school system? She is five years old and is only just beginning to learn English anyway. It turns out she cannot read letters, writes them backwards, reads backwards, is totally confused by anything written. However, she is gifted as a musician.... with a natural gift for playing by ear.
Mostly, I'd like to know what help would be given such a child at school. What problems the parents would have. Are there special schools for this, special classes?
Thanks in advance!

artistictemperament Wed 22-Mar-17 23:16:48

Hello - this website should help :-)
www.bdadyslexia.org.uk/parent/choosing-a-school

Tainbri Fri 24-Mar-17 17:13:51

Depends how bad her needs are. The fact that they can't afford an independent school makes no odds, even if they'd won the euromillions it doesn't mean there's provison out there sad I have a son who's VERY dyslexic and live near Brighton so I speak from bitter experience. As it happens he gets funding via an EHCP and is actually placed at an independent school.

arunadasi Fri 24-Mar-17 17:39:58

Thanks for responding! It's actually useful to know that. Thanks again.

merlottime Fri 24-Mar-17 18:57:30