Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing slings and backpacks. If you want to buy or sell slings and backpacks, please use our For Sale/Wanted boards.

Manducca/lillebaby/connecta?

(7 Posts)
Nottalotta Fri 21-Apr-17 13:55:13

I'm looking for a carrier for ds2,9 wks old, and big (98 th centiles height and weight)

I like the look of those I've mentioned, think the connecta looks a bit less comfy thought?

I'm 5'7 average build, carrying a bit of baby weight, size 14 if that makes a difference?

Can anyone recommend one or another?

Rainatnight Sat 13-May-17 20:12:33

Hi, I have a Connecta and love it. I'm small (only five feet) and I have a 90th centile baby. It LOOKS less comfy because the straps are less padded but it holds the baby really wonderfully and the weight is well distributed so I find it comfortable.

My caveat is that we adopted our DD at 8 months so I have no experience with a newer baby.

My partner has the Manduka and is happy with it. She's taller - 5'7". I felt as though the Manduka was wearing me, with all the padding, hence getting a different one.

Could you go to a sling library and try a couple?

icclemunchy Sat 13-May-17 20:16:14

Deff try and get to a local library. We always say Slings are a bit like jeans, and just because I like jeans from gap doesn't mean you will. The slings you have mentioned all fit very differently in terms of padding and adjustability and for a 9 week old will either be too bit or need an insert or rolling (which tbh are a faff and not always comfortable).

I run a library and we usually recommend stretchy wraps (including caboos) and ring Slings but it's hard to recommend without seeing you and your little one

littletwofeet Sat 13-May-17 20:23:29

You're best to go to sling library as what one person likes another hates! I couldn't get on with the connecta (I'm 5foot, same as pp) but know lots of people who love it.

I found the ergo the most comfortable and easiest to feed in.