Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing slings and backpacks. If you want to buy or sell slings and backpacks, please use our For Sale/Wanted boards.

Complete newby needs sling help

(9 Posts)
Daisybell1 Fri 14-Oct-11 15:18:35

Hi there

I really hope you ladies can help me! I normally hang out in the pushchairs section, being something of an addict, but I'm realising I also need a sling/baby carrier.

Some info:

Baby is currently 2 weeks old, and 8lb.
Sling would be used for trips out as she's not a clingy baby and doesn't demand to be held all day
We live on a farm so am thinking of using it for country walks, carrying her when farming etc
OH likes the idea of being able to carry her in a sling, so long as its not too girly (ie butch enough for him to be seen with her at sheep sales etc)

The kind of thoughts/questions I've got are:
Probably prefer the idea of a soft structured carrier to a fabric wrap, as easier for OH
Want her to be facing in initially
What are the issues with her facing out when on my front (I notice the Ergo says babies must not face outwards)?
Want something which is good for her hips (we have nicknamed her 'Frog baby' because of how she prefers to hold her legs!)

All my friends have the Baby Bjorn, but I know they're controversial. There is a new one out though for babies - is that better?
A friend lent us her Bruin 3-1 and I can't fathom any of the buckles/straps so it needs to be easy to use!

Basically, I'm really confused! Can you give us some recommendations? Unfortunately, there are no sling libraries or meets near us to try on, so we'd be buying (although probably second hand) blind!

Many thanks

Loopymumsy Fri 14-Oct-11 17:25:31

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

PessimisticMissPiggy Fri 14-Oct-11 17:43:01

I love my Moby! Now DD is 16lbs it's a little too stretchy but I've had loads of out of it.

PessimisticMissPiggy Fri 14-Oct-11 17:43:21

Loads of use, I mean.

pootlebug Fri 14-Oct-11 19:51:26