Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing slings and backpacks. If you want to buy or sell slings and backpacks, please use our For Sale/Wanted boards.

SLing for newborn?

(10 Posts)
TeacupTempest Tue 20-Sep-11 15:06:02

I have a moby wrap already but wondering if I should get a sling too for when little one is newborn?

Any advice?

thisisyesterday Tue 20-Sep-11 15:07:58

a moby is perfect for a newborn

thesurgeonsmate Tue 20-Sep-11 15:18:00

I think Moby is all you need. I'm an amateur first timer, and mine was certainly in her Moby within a fortnight. By which I mean that's when I was ready to give it a go. I'm sure an expert would say they'd get theirs into the Moby within the day! There is a newborn hold that keeps them all tucked up inside, it's even less faff than the position for older babies, you just slide them in, no wrangling of legs or anything.

fraktious Tue 20-Sep-11 15:32:26

One of the first things I did when we brought DS home was wrap him in a stretchy which is all we used for pretty much the first 6 weeks. Then we started using the ring sling more and I moved onto wovens, DH converted at about 4 months because DS is heavy and squirmy so we needed something with less give.

A Moby is all you really need at the start but what else were you thinking of?

TeacupTempest Tue 20-Sep-11 16:00:41

Thanks. Not sure what else I was thinking of. I had only seen older children in the moby wrap and was wondering if I should also get an over the shoulder sling type thing.....

God knows I am getting myself confused about slings, rucksacks, pushchairs, breast pumps and all sorts!!

thesurgeonsmate Tue 20-Sep-11 16:16:57

And if your baby is light and not at all squirmy the Moby might last you a lot longer than 4 months smile. I bought a Mei Tai to move dd onto my back at about a year or so.

4madboys Tue 20-Sep-11 16:29:11