Talk

Advanced search

Ideas for work lunches

(11 Posts)
thobblywighs Mon 29-Dec-14 09:11:07

I am returning to slimming world tomorrow. Having followed the plan before I know that my sticking point is lunchtime! I really need some ideas that are not bread based but are quick and easy. As a teacher, my lunch hour generally involves marking, setting up lessons and lunchtime clubs so anything that can be eaten one handed is great! We do have a microwave but with 50 odd staff, the chances of getting to it, heating up food and having time to eat it are slim. Thanks

captainweasel Mon 29-Dec-14 09:29:25

Salad is your friend. Or crackers and humous with veg sticks. Or with cream cheese.

thobblywighs Mon 29-Dec-14 15:11:02

Thanks. Like the idea of raw veg and humous. Can I make my own by blitzing some chickpeas? Breakfast is easy but tends to be where I use my b choice so anything free for lunch is a plus.

Whyjustwhyagain Tue 30-Dec-14 08:57:17

It's really nice if you add some 0% Greek yogurt or fat free fromage frais and a squeeze of lemon juice to the blitzed chick peas to make a creamier tasting houmus

Whyjustwhyagain Tue 30-Dec-14 08:58:28

Frittata is also good for lunches
With salad and home made rice salad

endoflevelbaddy Tue 30-Dec-14 09:51:52

I make up a batch of pasta / rice / cous cous salad, use fat free yogurt & lemon juice as a dressing.
Spanish omelette as a free dinner and left overs for lunch with salad.
I keep mugshots in the car for lunch emergencies and just have that and a banana, but better if I've time to chuck crudités, fruit salad / yogurt together too.
I also really like (and never thought I would) roll ups of ham, little gem lettuce and the low fat laughing cow triangles - not sure if they're still an A choice as I've not been to a group in ages. Really nice with red pepper in the middle.
I also like to make up veg soup too and take in a flask but was never entirely sure whether it still counted as free.