Talk

Advanced search

When will the time come for sleep filled nights?

(5 Posts)
wendywoos Thu 28-Jul-05 10:06:45

Hi, I am new to mumsnet, joined yesterday. My second daughter is now almost 19 months. She has never slept through the night, although on two accasions I got a 7.30pm til 6.00, which was bliss. I had forgotten what it felt like to fell normal the next day!
I can leave Emily to cry it out at night, and it works for a bit then goes down hill again. You see, she settles back fine when given a bottle of milk/juice, but screams for half hour or more when just left. I did all the sleep methods when she was yound which really helped in getting her down to bed. I realise that she is useing the bottle as a prop to get herself to sleep, much like a dummy. This is why she feels she needs it at night, its my own fault I should have never allowed her to go to bed on a bottle like that, but it seemed the earier option at the time. I was on the Gena Ford website last night and she had posted a reply to someone saying "in my opion a child that isn't sleeping through the night by the age of one, doesn't do so for mant more years" I was gutted at reading that. I just don't know what to do next. Its at a stage where I can't even ask people to baby sit over night because it seems unfair that have to endure the same kind of sleep I have. What to do. Has anybody else out there had a child that woke during the night at a late age and went on to sleep through? If so what sort of age did you get results and what did you do?
I really should go cold turkey, grit my teeth and bare it! I find when I do, night one is bad, tow better, night three goes down hill a bit, but by night four - dramatic improvments . Then as soon as I get somewhere, say down to one wake at 6, she gets a cold or something. We were doing well, then went on holiday last month, now back to square one. I just give in for an easy life. So tired!