Talk

Advanced search

desperate with 14 month old's poor sleep

(14 Posts)
MotherofPearl Thu 28-May-09 13:56:30

I am new to mumsnet but really hope someone has some tips to help me correct the horrendous sleep habits of my 14 month old daughter. I am really at my wits' end! It's 3 inter-related problems (sorry this is going to be really long & probably quite boring!):
1) Won't sleep in her own room or bed (always refused cot so co-slept with us for first year, now she has a bed with proper guardrail but only goes in there till about 10pm then wants to come to our bed)
2) Pretty much depends on being BF to sleep (I know I made a rod for my own back with that one!). She will take a bottle to go to sleep when she gets put down about 7pm but all subsequent & multiple further night wakings she screams blue murder unless BF is forthcoming (by this stage she's normally in our bed which makes it difficult to refuse her the breast as easily accessible!)
3) Wakes up loads still. She's normally asleep for 7pm-ish but wakes up at least once, sometimes more, before we go to bed around 10-ish. Either has to be BF back to sleep or head/chest rubbed for 30 mins or more! This means little time in the evenings with partner. sad
I really am desperate to give up BF but end up keeping it going for the sake of peace and some sleep. Can't really do CC because live in a flat & will neighbours undoubtedly complain. Plus the few times we have tried it she doesn't seem to respond, just goes on & on crying which I find hard to handle. Sorry this is so long & detailed but would be really grateful if anyone has ANY advice to offer. Thanks.

maria1665 Thu 28-May-09 14:07:23

I have same problem with my eighteen month old. We have a large studio bedroom, so her cot is in our room. She goes to bed ok but wakes to come in with us about 1pm - sometimes settles down straight away but often doesn't.