Weaning from dream feed - help

(5 Posts)
Sofasch Fri 05-Mar-21 08:07:12

I have been dreamfeeding my LO since 2 months old - he's now 6 months and has slept well since then due to dream feed. Now in his own room which went well and he's been sleeping from 10pm dreamfeed consistently, so I decided to try start weaning. I moved the time by 15 mins every night few weeks ago and started dropping the feed amount slowly....he was fine until we got to 9pm and he started waking before feed time. Then starting waking at 3 and 5 am. So I tried to move it back. He now Wakes atb8pm wanting a feed after feed at 6pm and bed at 6.30. last night was the worst he woke at 7pm, 9.30 and 10.30....i did the feed at 8 as he wouldn't settle without. Can anyone give any advise or have any experience with weaning from the dream feed. He's also teething ATM and started eating less at most feeds last few days.....

OP’s posts: |
FATEdestiny Fri 05-Mar-21 08:57:19

I assume you're starting to wean onto solids? This makes 6 months old a not-ideal time to drop the dream feed because weaning often results in fewer daytime calories, as milk feeds drop but solid foods are low calories.

I would suggest your night wakes are probably hunger related. You want to try and increase daytime milk to allow for the amount of milk he would have in the night to be included in the daytime.

Early weaning can certainly feel like newborn in that so much of your day is filled with feeding!

For example, if your pre-weaning schedule was 6oz milk at 6am 10am 1pm 4pm 7pm 11pm (36 is total)

Post-weaning without a dream feed might be:
6am milk
7am "breakfast" solids
8am milk
(Nap)
11am milk
12pm "lunch" solids
1pm milk
(Nap)
4pm milk
5pm "dinner" solids
6pm milk
Bedtime milk