Talk

Advanced search

10 week old, very restless sleeper. Does it get better?

(6 Posts)
Newmamma1990 Mon 04-Dec-17 13:21:19

Hi there,

I’m very new to this but just desperate for some reassurance. I have a beautiful baby boy who’s now 10 weeks old. He’s healthy, putting on tons of weight etc etc. But the nighttimes are awful, he sleeps for one 4-5 hour stint (with a regular bedtime) but is restless from then onwards. I get him to sleep eventually and then he’s awake again an hour later or less - and anytime after 4am is game over. I end up bringing him into bed, and he wriggles and dozes and feeds and cries then dozes again until we eventually get up. Most of the time when he wakes up, he doesn’t really need feeding- and I’ve tried it both ways - trying to wean him off a feed (he still wakes) or feeding him (worse, because he stays awake, spits up, wriggles around etc.)

Has anybody had something similar? And does it eventually get better? I have tried sticking to an awake time / sleep time schedule (makes no difference), we have a bedtime routine, I play white noise, he’s in a bedside crib so I can soothe him easily. He’s not too hot or cold. And we’ve tried a cranial osteo.

Any advice or reassurance would be so welcome.

KatnissK Mon 04-Dec-17 13:44:07

Sounds quite normal. You're lucky to get a 4/5 hour stint - I hope you are sleeping too then! My 5 month old used to be very windy at night and often did a poo. After 12 weeks this gradually settled and now he wakes frequently for various other reasons (hungry, teething, a burning desire to blow raspberries at 3am....). From 3/4am onwards he continues to be quite restless and generally wakes for the day any time from 4.30am. I don't know if that is likely to improve at any point! Again, make the most of a block of sleep - I used to get a good 4 hour stint but reverted back to 1-2 hourly wake ups at 4 months and now I'm lucky to get 3 hours uninterrupted! Good luck.

Choccyhobnob Mon 04-Dec-17 16:37:03