Talk

Advanced search

14 month old sleep

(22 Posts)
Timetogrowup2016 Tue 25-Apr-17 17:06:20

Naps are awful.
Dd has taken 20-45 minutes naps from birth. 30 minutes is the normal.
She had 3 weeks of 1 hour plus naps naps and now we're back to one shitty 20-30 minute a day.
Everyone says babies link sleep cycles when developmently ready,
So how come my dd bar 3 weeks of her life can't take a nap longer than 45 minutes?
Today she has had 15 minutes since 5:30am.
And she's not happy on it.

FATEdestiny Tue 25-Apr-17 18:56:14

A child does need to be developmentally ready, in that as much sleep training as you like done before the child has made the development keep will make no difference to short naps.

That said though, in my experiences I've always actively taught baby to extend naps. I have no experience of doing nothing and naps just getting longer, although I have read on here others saying they did that.

My methods for extending naps are not as useful in an older baby. I have always kept naps in the bouncy chair and been relentless in bouncing to keep baby asleep until baby routinely stays asleep longer than an hour. But my bouncer has a 6 month max age (I might have continued using until 7-8m, but not much more), so this was always something done when baby was still young.

In an older baby like yours, pushchair pushing might give a similar outcome. Or wake to sleep - whereby you resettle baby back to sleep as soon as the very beginning of waking happen, or ideally just before.

How is baby going to sleep? Does she cry or actively do anything to go to sleep?

Is baby getting enough sleep overall? Perversely, a baby getting plenty of sleep is more likely to have longer and better quality sleep as a result of being well rested. An over tired baby is more likely to have shorter naps and sleep more lightly, so wake easily.