Grunting and straining at night but not during the day!

(20 Posts)
user1478809156 Wed 19-Apr-17 02:45:26

Hi
This is my first time posting but I'm hoping someone may have some suggestions on how I can get some sleep at night!
My 3 week old started grunting and straining at night 2 weeks ago and hasn't stopped since!
He is generally a good baby and doesn't cry other than for food but the noises at night are unbareable and I'm unable to sleep through them.
I've read on the internet its wind and digestion and he should grow out of it but has anyone else experienced this?
I am breastfeeding and formula feeding as he is a really greedy baby!
Formula is at night as my other half takes the first shift with him and I'm unable to express enough.
It's horrible seeing him in what seems discomfort although he doesn't actually cry until,he is hungry.
I wind him after feeds but he really hates it so don't tend to do it for long!
Ive not yet mentioned to my hv but will be phoning her tomorrow.
During the day he is generallly fine with only the occasional quiet groan, but generally sleeps really well during the day.

OP’s posts: |
LuchiMangsho Wed 19-Apr-17 02:50:16

This is natural. You will have to learn to sleep through it. Also in the day time the ambient noise possibly drowns him out a bit.
It doesn't matter if he likes winding or not. It's making him uncomfortable so you have to persist.
Formula is often a bit harder to digest. I wouldn't solely be giving it at night in case that is naking things painful for him.

MumOnTheNurseryHunt Wed 19-Apr-17 02:52:11

My two week old is exactly the same! Wish I knew the answer as she sounds in pain and uncomfortable (and I also can't sleep!!).

FurryElephant Wed 19-Apr-17 03:31:25