Talk

Advanced search

HELP WITH GRADUAL WITHDRAWAL SLEEP METHOD

(7 Posts)
user1483397087 Wed 04-Jan-17 15:40:23

Hi everyone
I'm new to MUMSNET but I could really do with some advice about sleep training fro my 3.5 yr old. Has anyone tried the gradual withdrawal method? I've tried the repeated putting back to bed, which just ends in total meltdown and clinging to legs. I've also tried co sleeping which didn't work. At the moment I'm doing the popping in and out every 5 minutes but this doesn't seem to working in the middle of the night. She seems to have a very busy mind and has night fears about things she has imagined or seen.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

FATEdestiny Wed 04-Jan-17 18:40:16

I've a lot of experience with Gradual Withdrawal with a baby, but none with an older child.

It's not a quick fix and unless you have somewhere to sleep in her room, it will mean not much sleep for you if she's waking in the night.

The basis of GW is trust that you will always give as much reassurance as child needs right though fully asleep, all the time, every time, now and ib the future. Then over time you make tiny changes so that ahe needs your reassurance less and less.

You can't even start HE until you have the trust. Child needs to stop the fear that you might leave her alone. She needs to know that you never will. That you'll always be there and will give her as much reassurance as she needs. No trying to seek out just as she's dropping to sleep

FATEdestiny Wed 04-Jan-17 18:40:50

HE = GW (gradual withdrawal)

user1483397087 Wed 04-Jan-17 19:09:55

Many thanks for this. It's sounds full on but we've basically had no proper sleep for the last 3.5 years!

The last year has been broken sleep every day. We contacted a sleep nanny who was helping but then we had a massive set back with our daughter when she had a bad dream and wouldn't let us leave the room. We've since run out of sessions with the Nanny.