Talk

Advanced search

Switching to formula

(9 Posts)
Newmumtree Fri 24-Jun-16 16:39:02

Hi,
I'm new to mumsnet. My DD is 16 weeks and I'm thinking of switching to formula feeding as I'm struggling to get her into a routine on breast
milk. Has anyone done this? Do you think it will help?

icklekid Fri 24-Jun-16 16:45:25

Are you thinking a routine with feeding will help her sleep better? The advice with formula is the same as breastfeeding to feed on demand...not sure why a bottle would help if baby isn't ready for/keen on routine?

Timetogrowup2016 Fri 24-Jun-16 17:16:43

Dd is bottle fed and 18 weeks and still has not even a hint of a routine.

MYA2016 Fri 24-Jun-16 21:43:16

Hi OP. I started giving my ebf baby a bottle of formula at bedtime at exactly 4 months. It didn't help him sleep better but it gave me a bit of a break as I was starting on the slippery slope of PND.

After about 3 weeks I also started giving him a bottle at lunch time.
I found this helped get into more of a pattern (which I knew wasn't important but did mean his naps started falling into place...)

7am wake and bf
9am bf to Sleep (1.5hr nap approx)
12pm bottle of formula and 45 min nap
3pm bf to sleep (approx 1 hour)
5.30 top up bf
7.30pm bottle of formula and bed. I also often end up offering my boob after this to get him to dose off.

I actually was ready to wean him off bf completely for various reasons and was very happy to achieve what I have....but my boy has other ideas grin he just will not settle unless he's fed to sleep. He doesn't have to actually feed... more like suckle.

Don't get too hung up on not having a routine. It's hard because I'm the same and when out days pan out differently to the norm I get stressed. But I'm slowly learning that as long as I can get a few naps in and he is not hungry, the most important thing to me is that he goes to bed at his usual time

tiredybear Sun 26-Jun-16 20:10:34