How to get 10 month old to sleep in later....

(9 Posts)
KW89 Mon 23-May-16 21:51:12

DS2 is 10 months old and has started to sleep through (with a dreamfeed). He goes to bed at 7.15, has a dreamfeed at 10.30 (have tried to not dreamfeed, but he wakes up between 11 and 11.30 anyway for it if we don't)
he will then sleep until between 5 and 5.30 most nights (we still have night waking sometimes) if he does wake in the night we now offer water instead of milk. Is there any way to get him to sleep in a little longer? Ten months of very little sleep and now up at 5 every morning is exhausting me! Have tried treating it as a night waking, but he just won't settle again. He eats 3 good sized meals a day, and also has 4 210ml bottles. Will he start sleeping long the older he gets or am I doomed to be up at 5 for the next few years? DS1 has always slept from 7.30-8, and all my friends babies seem to sleep til after8 every morning, so I'm new to these early starts! Any ideas greatly appreciated! Oh and he has just sprouted 4 teeth in the last 2 weeks!

QuiteLikely5 Mon 23-May-16 21:53:42

Have you thought about giving him milk during the night instead of water? I know it's a step back but if you are keen to get a lie in then it's an option......

Other than that you are asking a million dollar question smile

KW89 Mon 23-May-16 23:04:45

Yep tried milk again, but makes no difference at that time 😞 he's ready to start the day! Also has blackout blind and whitenoise, so don't think he's being woken by the brighter mornings and the ridiculously noisy birds! Guess I'll have to go with it and hope he learns to love a lie in like his brother!

HollyC255552 Tue 24-May-16 09:44:29

Could you maybe try a later bedtime? My DD is 10.5 months & she is an early riser between 5:30-6am every day. She has always been a poor sleeper right from birth. I've tried so many things i just go with it now.

MyBreadIsEggy Tue 24-May-16 09:55:35