Talk

Advanced search

4 month old sleep schedule

(13 Posts)
Botot Wed 25-Nov-15 13:27:53

Hi all, I'm new to this and hope someone might be able to help!

I'm a first time mum and baby is now 4 months old. I have been trying and failing to get her on some sort of schedule for a few weeks but I'm finding the advice so conflicting!!!! In general it seems that all the books say they need about 14 hours sleep a day but if you look at sample baby schedules they seem to show baby sleeping 7pm-7am plus about 4.5 hours of naps a day which would mean almost 17hrs of sleep?!

The other point I'm confused about is that it says to start stretching out feeds to 4 hours apart but if that's the case and she wakes at 7am and goes to bed at 7pm it means only being able to fit 4 or 5 feeds in (if hoping they sleep through eventually) which if she has 6oz at a time only means she will have 30oz a day which isn't enough for a 14lbs baby?! So confused!!!!!! Any help or advice would be great!!!

Finally, what do you all do about routine? Do you ever leave the house as it seems impossible for me at the moment as if she doesn't nap properly she just screams for 2 hours by the evening do doesn't seem worth it but feeling a bit trapped :-( X

PerpetualSummer Wed 25-Nov-15 14:47:20

Hi Botot

I know how you feel! I felt like I didn't want to leave the house as if my daughter had a meltdown I wouldn't know if it was hunger or tiredness so putting her in a routine was important for my own sanity.

My daughter is 4 months next week and she feeds every 4 hours (starting at 7am). She then goes to sleep at 7:30 - 7 (sometimes wakes up earlier but usually goes back to sleep, other times she just plays by herself, occasionally may need to pick her up earlier).

She naps for a maximum of 4 hours during the day (but usually it's closer to 3 1/2).