Talk

Advanced search

3 month old waking every hour - mutual support thread?

(5 Posts)
Saralu77 Thu 27-Mar-14 11:23:34

Hi,

It's my first time posting on here so apologies if I get anything wrong! I know no one will have any miracle answers, TBH I'm not really posting for advice (though any offered will be gratefully received) but for a bit of empathy and maybe mutual support from other sleep deprived parents!
My DS is 3 months old, and over the past 2 weeks has changed from sleeping for reasonably consistent 3 hour stints overnight, to starting with 3 hours from 7-10, then 2 hours 10-12, then 1.5 hours, then only an hour at a time from 2am onwards. He always used to wake quite gently too, waking me by having a bit of a grumble and grunt to himself, but has now discovered a new sound - a loud wailing noise- which he practices repeatedly through the day just for fun, and now uses that with little or no build up in the night to prewarn me. This results in me leaping up, startled, and trying to get him on the breast before he wakes DP, and more importantly my 2 DSSs who have to be up for school!
His daytime naps have become a nightmare too, this morning I spent 45 mins trying to get him down for a nap, following the No Cry Sleep Solution guidance. It took 5 attempts to soothe him and put him down before he didn't instantly start screaming, then that lasted precisely 6 mins. I just managed to have a high speed shower and a wee!
I know he's by far not the worst sleeper around, and keep reminding myself that this is a phase and will pass soon enough, but just thought it'd be nice to get, and give a bit of mutual support before I start weeping from sleep deprivation!
Xx

Saralu77 Thu 27-Mar-14 17:49:34

Anyone?

DiplodocusDinosaur Thu 27-Mar-14 17:55:53