Talk

Advanced search

4 month old waking every hour at night :'(

(21 Posts)
SuzeLaws2014 Tue 04-Feb-14 15:47:54

Hello lovely mummies out there!!! I'm new to this but was wondering if anyone had any tips on how they helped there LO's to sleep better?

My son Edward is 4 months old on the 8th Feb, only a few days away and he has never slept longer than 3 hours from birth till now sad but just recently for the past few weeks some nights he wakes every single hour!!! I am exclusively breastfeeding as the little monkey refuses to take the bottle, which has been lovely as out bond is beautiful but only I can feed him. Edward usually feeds to sleep like most babies, however recently he has been pulling away from the breast & has been rocked to sleep. But like I said some nights he wakes every hour & was wondering if anyone else had the same issue at this stage? I have read that Sleep Regreesion is most likely the cause but Edward has never slept longer then 3 hours in the first place and now I am absolutely exhausted, suffering slightly with depression because of it.

My partner feels horrendous as he can't help with the feeds as Edward will not take the bottle, anyone else have this problem with breastfeeding? I'd love Edward to take a formula feed before bed just as another option to see if it will keep him fuller for longer?! As when he wakes at night I have to feed him to sleep, then he'll wake the next hour, feed to sleep or sometimes fully wake at 1am & 4am like last night sad sorry for the long feed Ladies but can anyone else relate? I always leave an app on for him which is white noise as it definitely helps him nod off, he sleeps in his cot with a 2.5 tog sleep bag as our house isn't very warm... HELP!

Saucia Tue 04-Feb-14 15:52:02

Will he take a dummy? Just to reassure you sleep regression only lasted a couple of weeks with us so he might be back to 3hourly soon if nothing better!

lanbro Tue 04-Feb-14 15:58:06