Talk

Advanced search

Windy baby doesn't sleep day and night

(6 Posts)
NanaJoy Wed 03-Oct-12 14:39:08

Hi,

I am new to Mumsnet. I read all the threads about windy babies and I am glad I am not alone, struggling with a very windy 7 month old baby. Everyone around me says it should have cleared by now and here we are to prove them all wrong.

My DS wakes up a few times during each nap and a few times at night, bringing his feet up, arching his back and screaming and the only things that seem to help are bouncing him on the yoga ball and bringing his feet up to release the wind and then he usually resettles after around 15-30min. We give gripe water and probiotics and I tried drinking loads of fennel tea and excluding many foods from my diet (he is BF) but nothing seems to do the magic.

I am really exhausted and it feels quite liberating to just admit it. I have 2 questions on which I would appreciate some insight:
1. Any chance swapping BF for formula would make him produce less wind in his intestines? This is probably the only thing I haven't tried
2. Do you think he is actually getting used to relying on me to help release his wind? Can babies pass wind and fart in their sleep?

I am not prepared to leave him to cry but I also don't want to create a habit of needing me to resettle instead of helping him pass wind on his own.

Thanks,

dinkystinky Wed 03-Oct-12 14:40:42

He sounds in lots of discomfort - warm bath and winding thoroughly (burp and cycling legs) may help in evenings. I'd also suggest checking him out with a cranial osteopath - helped massively with DS2 when he had similar issues at 3 months.

Seriouslysleepdeprived Wed 03-Oct-12 16:25:00

Have you tried cutting dairy & soya out your diet? DS has a cows milk protein problem which causes wind issues & general tummy discomfort. It seems to be quite common. If this were the case, formula would make it much worse as it's made from cows milk.