Talk

Advanced search

Hello! newbie here, struggling with 14month old to get to sleep, wont be nursed to sleep anymore! Any advice appreciated.

(11 Posts)
treehuggermum Mon 18-Jul-11 19:36:47

Hi all! I'm new to here and wondered if any of you could help me. My adorable 14month old little girl has been fed to sleep up until recently she wont anymore, she gets up after her feed hyper! Her bedtime routine is sorted, we put her to sleep after bath, singing, books etc when she's tired. She also refuses to be rocked to sleep, and i've tried cuddling her to sleep (we share a bed) but she just giggles and wrestles with me! She gets upset because she is so tired but cant get to sleep. She then bites and laughs each time i remove her, getting more hyper. If i try to leave her she just follows me or plays. I dont want to leave her alone in the room as there are too many risks. It's taking hours to get her to sleep and it's so tiring for me and frustrating for her sad Would anyone be kind enough to offer some advice? Thanks in advance

headfairy Mon 18-Jul-11 19:39:37

I think you being there is what's stopping her from sleeping. What risks do you think there are in a room if she's left on her own? Has she ever slept in a cot or some kind of bed she can't climb out of?

nethunsreject Mon 18-Jul-11 19:40:31

Aye, maybe baby proof the room, put matress on floor.

How is she once asleep?

nethunsreject Mon 18-Jul-11 19:41:33

oh and btw, my 14mth old still nursing to sleep, so this wou;ld be my worst ngihtmare. grin

nethunsreject Mon 18-Jul-11 19:42:12

and welcome! grin

treehuggermum Mon 18-Jul-11 21:52:06

Yes the mattress is on the floor. I'm pretty sure she'd scream and cry after a while if i left her and i'm not into that. Thanks for your advice tho x

treehuggermum Mon 18-Jul-11 21:56:33