Talk

Advanced search

Establishing Sleep Routine

(7 Posts)
ChrissasMissis Tue 28-Jun-11 16:01:49

Hello,

I am a bit new to all this - Mumsnet and being a Mummy! My LO is almost five weeks old and I am very confused by all the conflicting advice that seems to exist regarding establishing a sleep routine.

Up until the last few days, DS has been a fantastic sleeper, dozing off directly after a feed and then staying asleep for a good two hours+ at a time. Now that he is becoming more alert and interested in his surroundings, I am finding that he is less likely to nap after a feed. He will sit happily for a while, then gets a bit grumpy (tiredness?) and won't go to sleep unless cuddled. If I then try to put him in his moses basket during the day, he cries until I pick him up again.

Although cuddling him is my favourite pastime, I am concerned that I might be encouraging a bad habit. Is he too young for me to be worrying about this yet, or should I be encouraging self-settling now? I would like to be able to put him into his cot and have him settle - is this totally unrealistic?

Also, when ought I introduce a proper bedtime? At present, his last feed is at midnight and he tends to doze/scream between six-ish and twelve...

I would be so grateful for some advice on this - what were your experiences?

Thanks!

happylittlebear Tue 28-Jun-11 16:23:02

I wouldn't worry too much about the cuddling, he is still tiny and needing you to feel safe, he will learn to settle in his own time once he gets a bit bigger, I would carry on enjoying the cuddles smile
With regard to bedtime, I used to bath and feed my ds at about 6 every night and put him down to sleep around 7 (cuddled or rocked or with some gentle music, whatever works for him) and he would wake around 10/11 for another feed and then sleep again on and off through the night...