Talk

Advanced search

Waking every three hours

(14 Posts)
scgd Mon 27-Dec-10 20:15:23

Am I being unrealistic in expecting my 18wo ds to sleep more than 2.30-3 hours at a time during the night? He also expects boob each time to feed before resettling again. Am ebf. Ds was born at 36+3 so mw make him slightly younger don't know if that knowledge makes any difference! I only feed to sleep In the night also. I just feel that by now he should be sleeping for slightly longer periods or do I just have a bad sleeper??
Tia

Dreemagurl Mon 27-Dec-10 21:23:53

How long is he sleeping during the day? I'm no expert so hopefully someone more knowledgeable than me will be able to help but if he's sleeping for long periods during the day that might be affecting his night sleep. My 9 wk DD isn't great at daytime naps but she has a good 5 hrs at night before a feed and then another 4. Is he waking erratically, I.e not the same time every night? If so it's probably hunger and is either going through a growth spurt or not getting enough during the day. I tend to tank mine up in the evening and after a 10 o'clock feed she's down and sleeps till about 3.
Of course all babies are different and have different sleep patterns!
What works for us is having a set routine - bath, then feed in a darkened room, then shushing to sleep.
If he doesn't go any longer can you express into a bottle so your OH can do a feed in order for you to get a longer stretch of sleep?

Igglystuffedfullofturkey Mon 27-Dec-10 21:31:27

Sounds like my DS at that age, am afraid! It did get better around 6 months but sleep regressions etc meant he didn't maintain longer stretches regularly til a bit later.

Have you tried not feeding to sleep? On occasion I was able to do this and sometimes he woke and went back to sleep by himself (without crying, he just grumbled a bit - I was sleeping next to him). Might be worth having him close to you so he can sense you as he might want a feed for comfort