Talk

Advanced search

DIY ski holiday - what do I need to book?

(11 Posts)
aweewhilelonger Tue 31-Oct-17 15:15:31

Hi, ski holiday novice here.

We already live in France, not far from the Alps, but we've never splashed out on a ski holiday. We've got two boys, DS age 10 who has had two ski trips with the school and DS age 7 who's a total novice. Our aim is to have them both on skis by the end of the week. DH skis, he's planning to make the most of the mornings by himself and practice with the boys in the afternoon (if they are up for it). I've had a few lessons, but I'm not fussed TBH - I'm happy with a book and a hot drink.

If we don't go for a package - and since travel is not an issue, we can be there in an hour or two - what do I need to book for a DIY holiday? So far I've come up with:

Accommodation - the closer to the lifts the better
Ski school - lessons for the boys
Ski gear - for all the skiers
Ski lift passes - I'm a bit confused by this. Will the boys need lift passes if they are in ski school at the beginner level? I think DS age 10 will nearly be ready to hit the slopes proper at some point. And for DH - if he's practising with them on the baby / lower slopes, will he need any kind of pass?

Is there anything else I need to book (other than a spa for me ;-))?

And is DIY any cheaper than a package? Though it'll be a French package, not sure if they are the same as UK ones.

Thanks from a novice. We're looking at Les 2 Alpes, Val d'Isere / Tignes, and it'll have to be during the French school holidays which start 10 February for us.

CaurnieBred Tue 31-Oct-17 15:23:39

Lift passes are the main one. If you go to Val/Tignes you can get a pass just for either the Val side or the Tignes side, or for the entire area. Obviously, the more area you want to cover, the more expensive it is. If your DH is planning on bombing about in the morning, he would probably need the full area pass.