Talk

Advanced search

First time skiing- where and when?

(20 Posts)
WhatLizzyDid Thu 29-Dec-16 22:06:59

Hi

I'm currently looking at booking a skiing holiday for me, DH and DS (nearly 7). None of us have ever been skiing before but have always wanted to go. Where would you recommend for beginners? When should we go? We live in the U.K. So preferably Europe and I work in education so it would have to be out of term time.

I would be really grateful for your thoughts x

WhatLizzyDid Thu 29-Dec-16 22:07:54

PS. DH and I have done one morning lesson at an indoor ski slope.

EvaSthlm Sat 31-Dec-16 14:41:36

I hate it when it's steep downhill skiing and, partially therefore, have never been to the Alps. But if you don't necessarily want to go to the Alps (which might the easier choice) you could check out Sälen, there will be a lot of Swedes and Danes there though.... www.skistar.com/en/Salen/About-Salen/
Here's a pic where you can see the people skiing now, today: webbkameror.se/skidkameror/salen/index.php

I relearned how to ski at 40+ (I had been skiing as a child but stopped when I was about 12 years old when I outgrew my skis).

EvaSthlm Sat 31-Dec-16 14:45:19

Sorry for all the spelling mistakes, I spotted them once I had posted the reply ... smile

jo164 Sat 31-Dec-16 17:42:03

If you have to go at Easter (like me) then I would also recommend Scandinavia. We ski in levi, Finland which is great for beginners and intermediate skiers or like me, someone who would rather ski with my family now rather than hit the black runs! You would have to do it all independently as package deals from UK don't go that late into season. Easy to do though. Some good resorts in Norway and Sweden as well. We like Levi as although you have to change planes in Helsinki, it's a 15 min transfer at the other end. Great snow right through until May. Standard of accommodation also very high.

conserveisposhforjam Sat 31-Dec-16 17:45:51