Talk

Advanced search

Should I rebook holiday to avoid ESF?

(13 Posts)
FionaOD56 Tue 18-Nov-14 11:29:25

I booked our first family skiing holiday with mark warner in les deux alps, and they have just got in touch to say that they have switched ski school to the ESF, whom I have been keen to avoid - kids are 4 and 6 and complete novices, and I want them to have a really fun and positive first experience. MW can offer me an alternative holiday (cost tbc) in val d'isere, where the hotel is 15 mins further from the slopes and there's no swimming pool, but evolution 2 do the skiing lessons. I figure I have three choices:
1) switch to Val and live with the walking and the extra time required for nannies to pick them up if they have a meltdown
2) stay in les deux alps and book ski-school with another company (meaning we will need to come down at lunchtime to collect them)
3) do a few uk-based ski lessons and hope they will be ok with ESF....

Any advice/experience??

Fiona

Alibabaandthe40nappies Tue 18-Nov-14 11:31:04

ESF are fine, I wouldn't reorganise a holiday on that basis alone. If MW are using them then there will be other british kids in their class.

PuddleglumtheMarshWiggle Tue 18-Nov-14 17:27:50

We've used ESF several times and always had a good experience. They divide the classes so all English speakers are in one and French speakers are in another. The instructors are bilingual, so can teach in either language. I now have teenage, competent skiiers. Relax and enjoy your holiday

SanityClause Tue 18-Nov-14 17:30:33

We like ESF because there's a clear progression. If you are going in half term, there is likely to be an English speaking class - in quieter times, they might have to join in with a bilingual class, though.

LIZS Tue 18-Nov-14 17:37:34