Talk

Advanced search

Anyone skied in Canada or the USA?

(34 Posts)
Primrose123 Sun 28-Sep-14 10:54:38

DH and I have been skiing for about 25 years, but never outside Europe. We'd love to go to the USA or Canada but don't know where to start looking. We've been tempted by tales of long uncrowded slopes! We are a bit worried about the cost, there seem to be good offers, but there are always extra costs.

We don't really want a car if possible and would like somewhere where we could walk to the slopes, but I don't know if there are resorts like that.

I suppose budget would be around £2000 for flights, transfers and hotel, but cheaper would be even better!

Does anyone have any recommendations? If someone could suggest good resorts and hotels, that would be great. smile

PigletJohn Sun 28-Sep-14 11:04:00

Breckenridge for luxury skiing, Jackson a bit more serious. Both are very high with dependable deep snow.

Jackson is quite isolated but from Breckenridge you can do day excursions to other excellent or smaller resorts.

Primrose123 Sun 28-Sep-14 12:34:00

Thanks PigletJohn, I'll have a look at those two.

LIG1979 Sun 28-Sep-14 13:19:40

We had a lovely time at breckenridge and did a day trip to vail. Definitely worth the trip!

Sparrow8 Sun 28-Sep-14 13:23:38

We had a great time at Lake Tahoe, Heavenly ski resort

SpaghettiMeatballs Sun 28-Sep-14 13:25:23

We did Whistler. It was fantastic but I think it might be tight on £2,000 with the cost of flights?

We especially liked it because we had a few days in Vancouver too before heading to Whistler.

hellokittymania Sun 28-Sep-14 13:29:45

Only on a skiing camp for visually impaired in Winter Park, but it was great.

claraschu Sun 28-Sep-14 13:34:29

Park City near Salt Lake City, Utah. It was fantastic.

SilasGreenback Mon 29-Sep-14 09:02:59