Talk

Advanced search

If you wear glasses, what happens when you ski?

(15 Posts)
TheFantasticMrsFox Fri 26-Sep-14 08:23:45

No need to point out I am a complete novice grin
DS(10) is going skiing with the school next Easter. He is shortsighted and wears glasses all the time but could get by without them at a push (though he would be very unhappy to do so. As someone else with really bad vision I completely understand this)
When he skis can he wear his glasses under his goggles, will he be advised to ski without them or is there such a thing as prescription ski goggles?

HamNJam Fri 26-Sep-14 08:28:05

I have a pair of goggles that are especially for wearing over glasses - they are extra deep to accommodate glasses. And unless you're bothered to inspect them they don't look any different from normal goggles (only from the side can you see the depth).

Please make sure he skis with his glasses on! Obviously much safer for him and others around him.

TheFantasticMrsFox Sat 27-Sep-14 09:38:18

Thank you ham smile
A quick Google tells me that prescription goggles are available and start at about £50.
I was banking on getting a cheap set from Aldi but, unless they do specific glasses suitable ones I will end up spending quite a lot more anyway.
Given the rapturous reception the prescription swimming goggles got they may be a decent Christmas gift grin

LIZS Sat 27-Sep-14 09:44:52

At Easter he is more likely to need sunglasses than goggles.

ElephantsNeverForgive Sat 27-Sep-14 09:48:01

I just wore adult googles that would go over my glasses.

Billynomates71 Sat 27-Sep-14 09:50:04

Look fir OTG goggles, stands for over the glasses. Both my ds's (7&6) and my dh use them with no problem . I wear contacts when skiing.

Flexibilityisquay Sat 27-Sep-14 09:50:28

DS (age 7) has some prescription sunglasses. He ski's in them.

Christelle2207 Sat 27-Sep-14 09:50:56

I wear contacts for skiing and swimming.

Muchtoomuchtodo Sat 27-Sep-14 09:50:56