Talk

Advanced search

Foodies, self-catering in France: what staples do you live on?

(8 Posts)
franch Sun 12-Jul-09 09:59:57

I'm just dreaming, really, of our 2 weeks in the Languedoc in Aug - just talk to me about what you buy and eat when you're in France... I used to go a lot as a child but this is my first time self-catering as an adult and I fully intend to shop from markets etc and do as the locals do.

What do you have for your breakfasts and lunches? I'm taking a copy of this book which has some great local recipes in it, plus Elizabeth David of course, but intend to do more assembling of lovely local bits and bobs than full-on cooking.

Bink Sun 12-Jul-09 10:14:46

bread bread bread (send the children to get it if they're old enough 'Duh baggets seevooplay')

(breakfast is the above, with jam/Nutella and bowls of milky coffee. If your children like cereal there's always that too in supermarkets, though be careful of what milk you buy - the norm is UHT which children might not like if they're used to pasteurised. You can usually find pasteurised, but you'll probably need a big supermarket & to track it down. Nesquik if you can't resist the pestering)

Fruit - marvellous misshapen aromatic peaches. Ask what's best that day

Tomatoes, cucumbers, courgettes, aubergines, lettuces - again everything that is local. Expect to cook from scratch (or find a Picard surgélé for occasional laziness)

Lunches are omelettes and salad, quiches and salad, bread and cheese and salad.

Cheeses
Wines

NorbertDentressangle Sun 12-Jul-09 10:21:08

What we've tended to do is:

Breakfast -go to the nearest bakery and buy fresh croissants and bread (or if ILs are with us they've gone to the bakery with the DC and let them choose all sorts of highly sugared cake-type things hmm)