Talk

Advanced search

Rome: Ciampino to Vatican, what transport to use and how much?

(8 Posts)
Isababel Sat 15-Sep-07 09:19:47

Hi,

We are going to Rome in October and are arriving at Ciampino in the night (10ish) however, I need to be at the Vatican before midnight to meet with the lady who is renting us her flat.

Do you know of a taxi service I can book in advance? or how long it will take from Ciampino to St Peter's and more or less how much I should pay. I have had some bad experiences with taxists in Rome so don't really want to feel they have overcharged us (or took us for an unrequested scenery trip) on the first night.

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance.

ImBarryScott Sat 15-Sep-07 09:27:39

Taxis rank outside the airport. we went 3 years ago to Trastevere, which is fairly near Vatican, and paid about 35 euros I think.

kindersurprise Sat 15-Sep-07 09:39:45

I looked this up for our trip to Rome in 2 weeks, so cannot say if they are any good but here is one:

www.rome-limousine-airport.com/airport-taxi.htm

The city of Rome has a max fixed rate for taxis from the airpot to city centre. 40 euros. Make sure you get a proper taxi though. Will try to find the link about it.

kindersurprise Sat 15-Sep-07 09:42:01

here it is

Have fun!

Isababel Sat 15-Sep-07 09:57:11

Thank you for that

I'm tempted to go with the Limousin service. I'm fearingn a long queu at the taxi rank (and a very annoyed flat owner on arrival)

Theresa Sat 15-Sep-07 19:34:06