Talk

Advanced search

Anyone an expert on when is best to book flights for May half-term?

(14 Posts)
TeapotDictator Tue 28-Oct-14 17:10:59

Hi there,

Hoping someone might come along who is better at this than me - my twins have just started Reception and so this is my first attempt at booking flights/holiday without paying ridiculous amounts.

At the moment the Easyjet flights to Chania (Crete), that I have picked up before for about £100 return although not in half-term hell are showing at about £330 per person. MY question is, will they get lower? I know traditionally the sooner you book the better, but is it - really?

I'm tempted to hold off for a while. Am I mad??

AliceMum09 Tue 28-Oct-14 23:40:22

I booked my flights for May half term next year at the beginning of June this year! That's to Majorca with BA, who were £900 in total for 2 adults and 3 children as opposed to Jet2 who wanted over £1,600.

I think that prices are only going to go up for the school holiday period, it's not like they are going to end up with seats unsold. I would book now.

HarrogateMum Mon 03-Nov-14 14:42:56

I feel your pain. I planned to book our flights for 2a 3c to Malaga a month or so ago but thought I would wait as it was coming out at 1500£. I looked again a few days ago and it was £1650. We finally got round to booking today and with two cases it has come out at over £2k. That's Leeds with jet2 I have no idea why it is so costly it was £1100 this year...

FelixTitling Mon 03-Nov-14 14:46:04

Flights need to booked ASAP now. Very rarely is there a bargain to be had by waiting nowadays. Just booked mine for next September.

AliceMum09 Mon 03-Nov-14 21:23:10