Talk

Advanced search

Exam marking

(5 Posts)
sallycinamon Sat 26-Sep-09 09:10:56

Hi

Is anyone out there an exam marker for GCSE?

I'm a teacher and considering looking into it.

Do you have to be in a teaching position to do it or is it enough to be a trained and experienced teacher?

What's the money like?!

Thanks

scaryteacher Sat 26-Sep-09 11:27:32

I do it for Edexcel GCSE RE.

The money isn't fantastic and it is hard work.
The exam I mark is all done on line, and it kills the eyes. If I was still teaching, I wouldn't be doing it. It was one thing marking actual physical scripts, which you could peer at if a meaning wasn't clear; that you could take to school, lock your door and mark in a free; and as long as everything was marked on time, you didn't get hassled. You also went to London for standardisation, so you could pick holes in the mark scheme and ask for clarification from others around, and generally feel more secure in what you were doing.

Now: standardisation is online - the mark scheme is as it is, and you have to try and apply it. You get to practice the mark scheme; but then you have to qualify (pass the standardisation questions) to be able to mark.

If you fail on one of the questions, then you lose your bonus payment (this is not made clear) which is also your incentive payment for marking on time. Bang goes your will to get things finished.