Talk

Advanced search

ds in year seven is throwing a ruckus about the area of a circle

(29 Posts)
stitchtime Tue 26-May-09 16:03:03

he is being ridiculous, and not accepting that he needs to know how to work out the area of a circle, using pi x radius squared.
can a teacher please tell me to that kids have covered how to work out the area of a circle using pi, coz he is being ridiculous, and saying it is a level stuff

oopsacoconut Tue 26-May-09 16:09:14

Hi

pi x r2

pi is 22/7
so 22 divided by 7 times radius squared
first square radius the multiply by the answer you get by dividing 22by7.

does that make any sense?

foxytocin Tue 26-May-09 16:09:44

I am a teacher and yes, everyone gets to learn the area of a circle and you always use pi x radius squared. there is no other way.

and when you do know how to do this it will seem so easy you will be shamefaced wondering what all the fuss was about.

honest.

margotfonteyn Tue 26-May-09 20:19:57

Just asked DS2, Year 8, said def knows that but when questioned closely said learnt in Yr 8 but could have poss learnt it in year 7, but teacher 'was crap' so may not have understood it!!! Complete apologies to all teachers, his words not mine, but may explain OP's sons 'ridiculousness'. Hope this helps, rather than hinders.(btw is at grammar school).

IotasCat Tue 26-May-09 20:23:59

Ds1 yr 5 state primary knows this

SoupDragon Tue 26-May-09 20:25:55

I didn't think there was another way to work out the area of a circle.

I certainly learnt it well before I took A level.

stitchtime Tue 26-May-09 21:28:33

thats what i thought too. he was being asked to work out the density of a telegraph pole, and was given its mass, height, and the radius of the telegraph pole, afaik there is no other way of doin git. but he was just throwing such a tantrum about it.
sad takes up more energy than the work he needs to do

foxytocin Wed 27-May-09 08:38:12