Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Are year seven students taught how to revise?

(10 Posts)
user1498927651 Sat 04-Nov-17 07:55:11

My DS didn't do well in a French test. He has only just started learning the language this year. Teacher was asking if he had done enough revision and how he was revising. However, I don't know if he has been taught how to revise yet.

I asked what he should do and the teacher suggested look-cover-write-check, which hasn't worked for him in English. He struggles with spelling in English but is expected to be able to spell correctly in French. I think he will disengage from learning if he knows the language but then loses half the marks on spelling.

Should he be being taught what to do to revise? When I learnt a language I just turned up, did classwork and homework and got an A, but I studied Japanese, which I think is easier than French.

Eolian Sat 04-Nov-17 08:04:28

Japanese easier than French??!!! I'm French and German teacher and am attempting to teach my self Japanese. It's a million miles harder than French imo.

Anyway... your son may have trouble with the spelling, but hopefully less so as he gets used to how French words work. Also, writing is only one part of what they get marked on in MFL. The speaking, listening and reading elements don't really require spelling skills, so hopefully he'll be able to do well on those.

As far as being taught how to revise... there aren't any obvious ways of learning spellings except the look-cover-write-check that I can think of tbh.

chantilly70 Sat 04-Nov-17 21:41:38

Our school uses Vocab Express for languages. My DS seems to have picked up a lot of basic vocab through that.

BringOnTheScience Sat 04-Nov-17 22:11:35

My DC1 is a languages nut and recommends Memrise. It's free and great for repetitive vocab learning.

IamHappy1976 Sat 04-Nov-17 22:19:07