Talk

Advanced search

Has anyone taught themselves or their DCs Latin to GCSE?

(16 Posts)
Japanese Thu 26-Oct-17 15:49:05

I have learned a number of different languages to GCSE, A-Level, undergrad and postgrad level. But I have never been taught Latin. I've always quite fancied learning it myself. My eldest will be starting Year 7 next year and the schools we are looking at do not offer Latin.

I have been thinking about doing some self-teaching of Latin between now and next September and then, if I get on ok with it, I could teach some at home to DD and then our youngest when they both start secondary school.

Anyone self-taught Latin and then gone on to teach their DCs?

Tryingtodoourbest Sat 28-Oct-17 13:54:22

Hello, I teach Latin as an extra-curricula subject at the moment to GCSE equivalent (level 2 with WJEC board which is more accessible for a non timetabled subject than the traditional OCR course). I am away at the moment but have some ideas for you when I have more time.

traviata Sat 28-Oct-17 14:05:19

placemarking

Japanese Sat 28-Oct-17 14:39:12

Trying - thank you very much, that would great, any wisdom you could share when you have a chance.

I have been having a look at the Cambridge online distance learning and am getting a bit confused by the different levels, what they're all equivalent to and whether they are recognised or not confused.

RenaissanceBunny Sat 28-Oct-17 15:02:39

I'd recommend the 'So you really want to learn Latin' books. They are aimed at Common Entrance so ideal for 11-13 year olds but actually as an adult I found them good to use and not childish - the only drawback is they don't come with answers in the back but if you're a competent linguist that shouldn't be a problem for the first couple of books.

Michaelahpurple Sat 28-Oct-17 16:29:46