Talk

Advanced search

SET grammar schools(NON SUCH and wallington)how to prepare ?

(18 Posts)
MRSMYM Wed 11-Oct-17 19:45:27

hello,
I want to prepare my DD for next year SET entrance exam for NONSUCH and Wallington high school.I don't want to pay expensive tuition, will practice at home. Any books ,Test papers, sample papers, links any recommendation will be highly appreciated as I am blank where to start from .

-Do they(nonsuch or wallington) have a mock test facility prior to exam?
-what i am understanding is , a child has to take an exam before even studying year6 curriculum because they held the test a year in advance .Is it right?

please help as i am new to this world ..

Regards,
mym

JoJoSM2 Wed 11-Oct-17 20:52:56

They do offer familiarisation tests but you need to sign up early as spaces run out quickly. The boys' schools offer them too and it's worth doing as many as you can. Other than that, just go to WH Smith's or Waterstones and get a bunch of 11+ books, like Bond, GL Assessment, Schoffield etc. Your daughter will be tested on English and Maths so get those two subjects (don't worry about verbal and non-verbal).

Dixiechickonhols Wed 11-Oct-17 22:17:02

If you look on elevenplusexams.co.uk/forum there is a section for each area with specific advice

MRSMYM Wed 11-Oct-17 22:20:14

Where we can book familiarisation test ?cant find any ? Please help

JoJoSM2 Wed 11-Oct-17 22:55:51

They'll be advertised on the school websites. They happen about 3 months before the real exams but I'm not sure when they start advertising.

MagicMarkers Thu 12-Oct-17 22:35:46

Sutton Grammar School and Wallington County Grammar School do familiarisation tests around May. Wilson's School also started doing them this year. These are run by the PTAs of the school not the schools themselves. They are boys' schools, but girls can sit these tests too.
Keep an eye on their websites for when you can book around January.