Talk

Advanced search

What do you wish you'd done with your kid since Yr7/ what went right?

(46 Posts)
shortwriter Sat 01-Apr-17 15:03:27

I'm a secondary teacher and have a child about to start Yr7. Her dad and I were both bright, but lazy at secondary school, and although DD is better than either of us were, she still shows tendencies to do the least possible amount of work to skate by.

I see my students, a full range from extremely hard working to lazy as hell, very bright to struggling, and without doubt those who have support at home have better outcomes at Yr11 than those in the same situation but without support.

I'm wondering what good habits I can start with DD right from the beginning of Yr7 that will mean she has the best chance possible.

What did you do that worked well? What do you wish you had done?
I'm considering buying her textbooks to keep at home for key subjects that she struggles in (Maths) and asking her to tell me each week what she's been doing and spending a bit of time on it with her, but maybe that's unrealistic.

All tips appreciated, thanks.

exLtEveDallas Sat 01-Apr-17 15:11:57

Homework done on the day it is set.

A large planner marked with the day a homework is set and the day a homework is due in - check it every morning.

I sit with DD when she does her homework - she asks me to. It's a PITA at times when I've got something else I'd rather do (like anything else!) but it does mean she can ask me questions there and then.

A thesaurus has been a godsend for English, History and RS work, and has expanded her vocabulary exponentially grin

Letting her get stressed and to wail and whine at times without comment - I do think they need to 'let it all out'

Little 'prizes' for doing well - her fave sweet or a sleepover, that kind of thing. I don't think teachers have much time for back slapping and sometimes the kids really need it.