Talk

Advanced search

Depressed DD - what if she can't sit her A2 exams?

(9 Posts)
Stopmakingsense Sat 04-Jun-16 18:19:19

DD18 is depressed and anxious and is due to see a psychiatrist this week. Her A2 exams are the week after. She does very little and is withdrawn and distant. This has been coming on for weeks but she has only just agreed to get more help (has been having anxiety problems all year). Clearly any treatment isn't going to be in time for the exams. Will she have to take them anyway? If Psychiatrist says she shouldn't - what happens then?

PotteringAlong Sat 04-Jun-16 18:21:17

You need to speak to the schools exams officer asap and see if she can defer for a year. You also need to speak to the head of sixth form to check she would be able to return next year and would not have to start again.

Needmoresleep Sat 04-Jun-16 20:22:26

Hi. I am no expert though similar happened to a friends DD. She somehow managed to get OK results, in the B/C range rather than the As she was capable of. Despite having struggled to get to school for a while.

It's tough and I would love to offer you cake. Is there a certain amount of knowledge she can bank? The advantage my friends DD has is that when she reaches a point when she can move forward with her life she has the grades that will allow her to take a vocational or applied degree. Which would be a good first step.

But equally if taking the exams is too much, then it's too much. Her health comes first.

samlovesdilys Sat 04-Jun-16 21:47:57

Please talk to the exams officer. I know at GCSE students who are really sick only need to sit 50% of exams to get qualification, I have a feeling we had a student a couple of years ago too ill to sit A2, I think they sat one exam - but that is dependent I guess on having sat AS exams successfully and if they have done coursework. If she is going through UCAS the school also needs to contact the prospective uni's too (that would be head of sixth with us).