Talk

Advanced search

what A levels to do Computing at Uni?

(5 Posts)
grumpysquash3 Tue 17-May-16 23:19:29

I am new to this part of MN, but finding it very interesting!

My DS (year 10) is a computer fiend, never off the thing, would like to study Computer Science at uni, when the time comes.

What combination of A levels is the 'best', if there is a best? He is strong across maths and science and is doing CS GCSE, although I know that isn't a requirement. He is also doing Engineering.

Is double maths an advantage over single maths?

EllenJanethickerknickers Tue 17-May-16 23:36:45

I suggest you look at a few university websites for their offer criteria. My DS, now in Y13, did Maths, Further Maths, Physics and Computing in Y12 then decided he preferred the maths to the computing course, so dropped the computing. He could still have gone on to do a computing degree with the double maths and physics, but has chosen maths instead, with an aim to go into software development after university.

The new A level syllabus for Computer Science looks much better than the current computing A level, though. DS had only done ICT at GCSE as his school didn't offer computing GCSE 4 years ago. Further maths, I'd say, is only really recommended for those with an A or preferably an A* in maths GCSE, so a 7 at a push, preferably an 8 (or 9 if anyone gets one of those) in the new GCSE.

AtiaoftheJulii Wed 18-May-16 07:24:55

Have a look at this recent thread in Higher - www.mumsnet.com/Talk/higher_education/2620209-Computer-science-maths-and-further-maths-a-levels

Personally, I think that if you're interested in mathsy courses, and you have the ability to do FM, then you probably should.

catslife Wed 18-May-16 08:32:41

Most of the advice on the other thread will probably be relevant to your ds.