Talk

Advanced search

Bloody hell - have Skype interview- help!

(8 Posts)
Cathpot Tue 03-May-16 16:01:56

Am overseas , coming back to uk in the summer. Took a punt on a job application because it looked like a nice way back into teaching (maternity cover and a good school) and I wanted to get into the cover letter/ application form frame of mind.

They have asked me to interview, and as I can't get back in time for the physical interview they have said we can do it on Skype.

There are so many questions now- how to look at screen so I don't get that shifty downwards Skype look on. What to wear (or not wear for a screen ) , it's an interview panel so it's going to be tricky to talk to different people , not sure how to handle that. Also and much more importantly - I haven't been to a proper interview in 15 years - 10 years at one school and a maternity break means I have NO IDEA what's coming. What are they asking nowadays? My background is secondary science and I've only taught at state school, this is a private school. The job said could be full time or two part time posts. I absolutely want part time do I say that up front or bring it up if I got offered it?

Sorry this is so garbled - I'm chuffed but a bit surprised - I wasn't expecting them to agree to Skype!

Any advice would be great

hooge Tue 03-May-16 16:09:22

Prop the laptop up on some books so the camera is at eye level. Wear a suit. Plain background like a blank wall. Have a notepad and a glass of water within arm's reach. Make sure your laptop is plugged in! When you speak, speak directly to your little camera or web cam, everyone will think you are looking directly at them. Do NOT talk to the screen or to your little face, only to your webcam! Good luck! grin

Cathpot Tue 03-May-16 17:41:31