Talk

Advanced search

Please can we have a non-fighty thread about the advantages/disadvantages of independent schools....

(168 Posts)
insertfeistynicknamehere Tue 12-Jan-16 21:42:37

I attended one myself but it was a long time ago.

Been looking round and keep seeing references to "dodgy independents"
what are these?

Where we live there are excellent state schools but I have no experience of this at secondary, it seems quite scary - DC attend a state village one-form entry school

My oldest is only 8 so it's a fair way off yet but still...
Promise am not a goady fucker btw.

I think the question should be what are the pros and cons of the independent schools available to us compared to the state schools available to us. i.e. if all the schools are co-ed then there is no point thinking if single sex is a better option.

Some independent schools are better than state schools and some are not. I only pay because I think the school offers more than than local state schools.
DS1 is doing the 13+ now and what his preferred school offers is:-
Smaller classes
Better equipment and facilities
Good record in exams and university entrance
Great sports
Lots of music options
A wide range of clubs and societies

Cons
Cost
Longer journey

There are state schools that offer some of what the senior school does but none that offer it all.

Bear in mind that private senior schools are also going to seem a lot bigger that a small primary.

insertfeistynicknamehere Tue 12-Jan-16 22:24:55

Chaz - yes thank you - that is what I meant.
Pros and Cons.

I am wondering what the best thing is - I am massively confused.

roundaboutthetown Tue 12-Jan-16 22:28:46

I think you need to look around the options, then you might be less confused!

Lurkedforever1 Tue 12-Jan-16 22:45:20