My daughter hates maths

(14 Posts)
Oakmaiden Tue 05-Jan-16 17:34:21

I don't think she is my child, really. I mean, how can she hate maths?

To make it worse, I am a Primary teacher and did my PGCE research project on children's enjoyment of maths.

But she is in Year 7, and hates maths. Any ideas for things I can do to help her change her attitude towards it? (She is actually very capable at maths - borderline level 5/6, getting A* as her grades in school so far - but I want her to have a positive attitude to it, not one of disgust...)

MilkRunningOutAgain Tue 05-Jan-16 18:48:58

Wish I could help, but have similar problem, my DS hates English and reading in particular, I love reading and find it so frustrating. He hasn't read a book out of choice since he finished the reading scheme. He is top set and good at all aspects of English except for imaginative writing, even here he holds his own. I have tried all different sorts of books, reading to him (he prefers me to read lists of things to him, like top 50 longest rivers etc), audio books, etc, it hasn't worked and tbh I am in a long phase of having given up, perhaps I'll try again when I think of a new approach. DS quite likes maths, but prefers geography and history.

maybebabybee Tue 05-Jan-16 18:50:10

I hated maths too confused Quite a few kids hate it,don't they? Is it much of an issue as long as they plod along OK?

Pipestheghost Tue 05-Jan-16 18:53:24

4 dc's 2 liked maths and 2 hated it, I hated it too, I think it's pretty common.

Lurkedforever1 Tue 05-Jan-16 19:01:24

Do you know why she hates it? Eg is the pace too slow so it's boringly easy? Or is she having to work/ think for the first time and struggling with the fact she isn't just coasting at the top? Or maybe in that cohort she's at the bottom and struggling to keep up? Or perhaps just the topic they are covering doesn't interest her? Because all of those are problems you can solve.