Talk

Advanced search

English parents evening-boys

(16 Posts)
IamactuallytherealJeff Fri 04-Dec-15 14:35:30

A couple of weeks ago I had year 9 parents evening for my son and the English teacher told him directly that he is a bright boy was never going to be the best English student. This is having only known him since September. I emailed the teacher directly and asked if I could have some information so I could help him myself and she emailed back saying do not worry and she is going to teach him some strategies.

Without taking this personally, since this is (or was) my area of interest, I was concerned...particularly upset that she said he would be lucky to get the equivalent of a C but most concerned she's reinforced his own idea that he is rubbish at English.

The rest of his subjects he is predicted As or Bs, he is a good, conscientious boy and I really do not want him to fail English.

How can I help him PLEASE. I have a combined English degree to start with so I should know how to help him sad sad

What are his strengths and weaknesses in English? Does he enjoy reading? Does he struggle with getting meaning from text? (I would assume if he doing OK in history then this wouldn't be a major weakness)
Is it the more creative tasks he struggles with?

IamactuallytherealJeff Fri 04-Dec-15 16:30:05

He doesn't enjoy reading and reads well but slowly, and struggles with comprehension, and yes the more creative tasks where you have to look for deeper meaning, he just can't get it . I don't know if he just isn't interested! He would never see the point of reading for pleasure.

Maths, Geography are his favourites. History he loves.

Can he hold an interesting conversation with you? If you were to ask him to tell you a story or summarise what you said could he do it? Can he do the same in writing i.e. write a story or summarise a piece of text?