Talk

Advanced search

Which do you think would get best out of DD - SW private or state?

(19 Posts)
Thickenham Tue 17-Nov-15 10:09:50

Hi there. Newbie here so apologies if this a repeat of old threads. My DD is in Yr 6 of a decent state primary and we are doing the painful secondary school "selection".

I had a question re what people thought would likely get the best of my DD. She's top half of class, generally academically solid but def not the high flyer, good at music and sports, fairly confident in class but has the odd wobble in terms of self-belief.

What I am struggling with is whether a girl like that would benefit more from a state school or if there is something extra that some of the private schools can offer (I am state educated so have no idea). For context the state school is Waldegrave - we are right in the catchment area and it's a great school - and we would probably look at the likes of Surbiton High, St Catherine's, Kew House and Putney High. I don't think LEH or SPGS would at all suit her temperament.

I guess my question is would a steady decent performer but not a rock star (someone who is a "confidence player" - flies high when she confident but prone sometimes to self doubt when she compares herself to her smarter classmates) would thrive better in a state school where she might be closer to the top of the academic pack than in somewhere like Putney where she may be in the bottom half academically but where the overall year group is maybe pushed harder/inspired more/taught better or whatever a good private school adds to the equation.

I want to set aside issues like cost, ideology, travel time and sports facilities as I think I can make a call on those. Thanks in advance.

TeenAndTween Tue 17-Nov-15 10:18:06

You have actually applied to State already though, haven't you?
Applications closed at the end of October.

(Just checking, I've no knowledge even of whether the schools you listed are state or private so can't comment further).