Talk

Advanced search

French or Spanish gcse? Which is easier?

(8 Posts)
Elephantjuicelove Wed 24-Jun-15 01:07:12

Hi!

DS has sen issue that effect his memory.

He has not studied languages at primary. He will have a choice at secondary to learn either French or Spanish. He doesn't have a preference and I suspect he would enjoy both. I understand he might not take either as a GCSE but assuming he does what does everyone think?

What should I tell him to choose confused?

Lindor Wed 24-Jun-15 01:17:25

I'd say go for Spanish. It's got a more regular phonetic spelling system and always seems less wordy than French. Plus it's spoken more widely.

scurryfunge Wed 24-Jun-15 01:36:31

Agree Spanish is preferable. I studied both for O level and A level. I think Spanish was easier because I had studied French initially but as previous poster has stated, Spanish is more widely used and therefore more useful.

Bonsoir Wed 24-Jun-15 06:11:46

Spanish pronunciation and spelling are far easier.

neuroticnicky Wed 24-Jun-15 12:45:11

I think it is generally accepted that Spanish is easier to learn and as there are around 4 times as many Spanish speakers worldwide as French it is also far more useful. Indeed Spanish overtook German a few years ago in terms of the numbers doing GCSE and it is predicted that in a few years time it will overtake French. I think the only conceivable reason to do French is if a parent is sufficiently good at it to be able to give their DC extra tuition at home. DH claimed (due to an A in his O level decades ago) that he would be able to help DD with French but when I tested his knowledge by asking him to translate a passage into French his attempt was pitiful. So it will be Spanish for DD.

Millymollymama Wed 24-Jun-15 15:16:29