Talk

Advanced search

Appeal - no hope but should I try anyway?

(10 Posts)
housemoverihope Tue 23-Jun-15 20:37:07

Currently offered third preference - a 15 minute walk and two buses away. Put local comprehensive first, we are in catchment area but heavily oversubscribed. Started on the waiting list at 19, got to number 2 but the 12 successful appeals have now effectively put us back to 14th. Rang admissions who basically said to put an appeal in as it's our only hope of a place now.
Literally our only grounds are:
- Travel to school is over an hour (includes a walk across a not very nice industrial estate)
- Reliance on grandparent for before/after school care (she has no car and I am a teacher at another school in the LA)
- We are moving to further into the catchment (started trying to move last summer - it has been a nightmare)
- The school has previously admitted over the PAN following successful appeals (is this even relevant?!)
- They potentially cocked up by someone "unticking" the catchment area subscription criteria box on the form so moved down the list massively although they are certain this will have made no difference.

So do I start practicing the bus route or have a bash with my pretty poor appeal grounds?

Two form entry and DS is literally the only one who didn't get a place sad

jeee Tue 23-Jun-15 20:41:40

What have you got to lose by appealing? Do you think it'll unsettle your dc, or give them false hope? If you're not worried about the appeal negatively impacting on your dc, I don't see that it'll do any harm.

titchy Tue 23-Jun-15 20:43:06

Is it really only two form entry? That's tiny for secondary!!!! Is there nothing about its offer that makes it more suitable? Subjects? After school activities? Any SN that need a very very small school?

housemoverihope Tue 23-Jun-15 20:44:49