Talk

Advanced search

Rats in the wall story

(14 Posts)
apotatoprintinapeartree Sun 07-Dec-14 21:33:17

I am trying to find something to explain this story to me.
My friend (English teacher) recommended I should read this, I did.
I didn't get it at all.
I have dyslexia and my comprehension skills are extremely poor.
I read really slowly and didn't get to read the usual material they did in school.
I don't even know the author, but think it aimed at A level, please don't say its basic GCSE or I'll weep.
I can't ask my friend as her dh is very ill atm.

CastlesInTheSand Mon 08-Dec-14 02:03:18

Stories aren't for GCSE or A levels! They're for reading.

Plot summary here:

en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Rats_in_the_Walls

Elllimam Mon 08-Dec-14 07:38:27

Well I have an MSc and still found it quite confusing. It is an odd story.

KatieKaye Mon 08-Dec-14 07:44:28

Why did she recommend it to you? Do you like horror stories or films?

Having read the summary it sounds quite strange .

Honestly, I wouldn't worry if you didn't get it

What sort of stories do you like? Horror, mystery, romance? Maybe you could get some recommendations here?

If reading is difficult have you tried audio books?

Pantah630 Mon 08-Dec-14 09:04:02

Maybe she just thought you'd enjoy it, if you're into horror/mysterious stories. Not my cup of tea but some people love this type of tale.

apotatoprintinapeartree Mon 08-Dec-14 18:09:46

Hello all,

Thanks for the replies.
Firstly, I think she recommended it to me because she knows I have problems in this area and that it was a good read.
I don't particularly like or dislike horror, I think it was from a comprehension pov.
She is a good friend and I suppose trying to help when I asked for suggestions.
I never thought to ask on here, what a whalley I am grin

I would like to build up some skills in comprehending literature, I can manage things like Charles Dickens.