Talk

Advanced search

Charging for school concerts £6 adult £5 child in a state school?

(11 Posts)
Joanna2650 Thu 13-Feb-14 04:39:48

My kids attend a large academy school in Oxfordshire. We have over 1000 students and so there are few events for the school community. We do have a few musical events we are invited to attend such as the winter concert and summer concert.

However, the music department charges £6 adult, £5 child for all school concerts.

Having helped out on the bar at these events ( more money for the music department), I saw compromised families who wanted to support their kids trying to get in with fewer tickets than their family group required, or just trying to get past the strict ticket collectors on the door. Seeing this kind if discomfort in families and also experiencing the sour faces of many families some of whom had paid £28 to have grandma, mum, dad and siblings come to watch and support.

As a professional musician myself I am all for supporting music departments. In fact I am fundraising for the music department's requests for the PTA. But is it just me or is this far too much to charge for a concert?
Please bear in mind there are minimal costs involved. No programmes, music parts from the schools extensive music library...

I am seriously thinking about starting a petition...

stillenacht Thu 13-Feb-14 05:01:28